What is church anyway?

I have recently started reading a blog by my new friend Eliteinchrist and through this have thought of the topic of this post. The man who blog’s behind this name has posed questions to his reader to really push them into new thoughts. He brings new light to ordinary Bible topics that can often be controversial, yet seem so black and white when presented in his blog. Though, not everyone would probably agree with him, it would take a good look into the Bible, with real research to rebut him. Which I think may be some of the reason he blog’s like this. The reader is forced to pursue the one true God themselves.
Anyway, Elite.. and I were discussing church’s and denominations and it reminded me of how Dave and I still don’t have a home church. We have been to so many church’s in our area (and further), that we have become disheartened by what we have seen. The church of today is either in great need of money because they are building a new (unecessary) addition, they orchestrate like a business, they are cold and unfriendly, or they preach enough on Sunday to get your taste buds tingling but can’t fully satisfy your appetite for the “meat” of the Bible. I know that there is no perfect church, but we aren’t asking for that anyway. We just want a church who stops playing church and has less of people and more of God. My husband started thinking maybe he should give up being a computer consultant and go to school to be a Pastor. I told him, โ€œGreat!, because we already have experience in leading worship.โ€ So weโ€™re all set, lol!
We had previously attended a church where the pastor was more like a teacher who really studied and researched the Bible. Every Sunday left us feeling like we’d really learned something new about God and like we couldn’t wait to hear another message next Sunday. We never left feeling guilty, but usually convicted and challenged. We’d get the feeling like we really needed to improve in an area of our lives, but we felt encouraged like we could. Anyway, he ended up leaving to be a chaplain in the army. As sad as we all were, he knew that if he stayed in his comfort and didn’t go, that much of what he preached would be hypocritical because he wouldn’t be serving God the way he told us to. I guess this seems like such a dream church, except that I actually attended this church.
I have realized though, that my constant desire to want to trust a church and pastor is a false hope. The Bible tells me to put my trust in God…and from experience I now really know why. My every effort of fully trusting a person has ended in someone feeling hurt or rejected. My rock truly is the Lord and on Him I truly make my foundation. I know he will never let me go, and this is so comforting.
So I’ve realized too, that I don’t need a church to truly grow in the Lord. Although the fellowship with other believer’s seems necessary in my walk with the Lord, the teaching I so long for is right in my bedroom. The teacher? Jesus. The setting? The presence of God. The time? The Lord waits for me. And the outcome? Leaps of growth and refreshing, and a pouring out of blessings (for both parties).

About Cheryl

I am a 31 year old wife of 10 years and mom of 3 kids. I put God first and everything else falls into place. He is my rock! I love photography, singing/songwriting, and writing all together, which is why I'm doing this blog thing, here goes... View all posts by Cheryl

11 responses to “What is church anyway?

  • Matthew

    I am so sorry. You guys told me about seasons and nothing else, it would have been nice to here honest thoughts from people we would have listened to. I don’t like anything you are talking about as far as the negative of the churches you are describing, and it sucks if we somehow fall in any of those categories – except exciting taste buds one- as i believe mature christians are to be like you said at the end, learning how to feed themselves and in turn helping to feed others. If we can tap into the appetite and point them where to really get filled- not just a sunday or friday night in our case.. I think that is ministry. In any case, I am a bit disheartened, and i am sorry. I wish I would have known.

    • Cher

      I am so sorry if I offended you. I actually thought of Allentown Victory when I was writing this (because it is a church we have attended in the past), but I didn’t think of it with the negative thoughts in mind. Except for the appetite thing. We have visited a lot of churches since Atown Victory, which is where this blog is coming from. Well, and from some churches we went to before Atown Victory. Don’t be disheartened, please! You guys are doing an awesome job! I always tell people good things about Atown Victory, if it comes up in conversation, and that’s the honest truth! You guys were a part of our journey that I don’t regret, it has helped us grow ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Matthew

        Thanks Cheryl that is kind of you. We love and miss you guys too, and I apologize for assuming we were under the blanket of “so many churches.” – but it was kind of hard not to assume that. In any case I enjoy reading your blogs… and let God lead you were to go, not were you prefer, but where He purposes. And there you will find a bunch of knuckleheads too, but ones that are there to help us grow into the maturity of Christ. God uses the things that bug us to grow us. Thanks again for replying. miss you guys and we got those two screens to give you guys too!

  • Watson

    I totally agree. I think that truely abiding in Christ is learning how to hear from him. You should turn to page 174 in the Truth About Lies… book. It might help you in this process! Also… The one reason we found a church…was because our former Pastor (who also was led to be a chaplain in that same year yours did) told me this…. If you take a coal out of the fire what happens???? The coal does not sustain heat by itself. We go to a church that meets our need of people who encourage us and people who love the Lord who can do life with us. But we are not dependent on this church to do what we used to long for. Exactly what you described above!

  • Elayn

    As I was reading I was thinking “yeah but…….” and then you proceeded to say exactly what I was thinking. The purpose of the church in my opinion is hanging with people of similar conviction for encouragement and exhortation. Our walk with our Lord, Master and true King is very personal. Interestingly enough; I just read a devotional that reminded me of how Israel wanted a human King. Hmmm, we often do the same with a “pastor”. God had counted it that Israel was rejecting Him!! Something to ponder. Why settle for a human when we can walk with and serve our true King-Jesus (Yeshua). But remember Hebrews 10:19-25 ( run and look it up-he he)

    • Cher

      Thanks Mom….um there is no 10:19-25, it only goes to verse 14. Where did you actually mean?

    • Cher

      Ok, my phone didn’t load properly…read it now…Yeah I see how it says meeting together is good to do, and we shouldn’t stop. I don’t intend to. And in my blog I said that I feel it’s necessary to meet with others. I just have found that many times I learn more in the half hour that I am in my room with God than I do in the 45-60 minute messaged preached at church.

  • Dave Ramsay

    I really really really enjoyed this blog!! I felt that it was so easy to read and everything just flowed. Also, I would have to say that I love the last paragraph the best! Fantastic job…best blog ever!!!

  • Tony Isaac

    God bless you Cher!

    And please call me Tony!

  • nicolemariemckay

    I think many have been preaching a watered-down version of the Gospel (maybe not in words always, but sometimes in actions). The result has been lack-luster Christians without power or purpose. As a younger generation, we have to stop looking to older generations to be mentors and examples because I fear that may not ever happen. We must seek to be the examples and in time, mentors to other generations. The only people that can change the church is you and I … … The Church. We are the problem. We can be the solution. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

