A New Law…Sort of (Part 2)

Ok, so basically…
Jesus fulfilled the law, this doesn’t mean the Ten Commandments and other OT laws. It refers to all the Mosaic law. The law that people followed for the forgiveness of their sins. The difference between the two is this…
The law that the OT people obeyed for the forgiveness of their sins was a ritual they practiced for just that. Jesus came and fulfilled all of this so we no longer have to perform these laws/rituals.
The Ten Comm. weren’t given as rules to be followed through ritual. Rather, they were given as rules to just live by daily. In all we do keep them in mind and don’t break them, is all. -Like good morals to follow, they don’t change your daily routine (except for maybe someone who is just starting their walk with Jesus).
So yes, there is freedom in Christ, as He has fulfilled the law that would require us to change our daily routine altogether.
My question then is where does tithing and tattoo’s fit in? In Leviticus it talks about men not shaving any hair on their face…hmmm? Did Christ change the rule on tithing regarding what I said in my last blog at the end? In Matthew 5:17-20 Jesus says, (and I read this this morning)

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished. Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven. For I tell you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees and the teachers of the law, you will certainly not enter the kingdom of heaven.”

Then in the following verses he talks about some of the rules of the law and and tweaks them, but only in a stricter sense. Not in a releasing sense. But when Jesus talks about giving to others, even the coat on your back if they need it, does that tweak the tithing law? I’m thinking not, because he would have specifically said so.
As usual, any comments or questions are welcome 🙂

About Cheryl

I am a 31 year old wife of 10 years and mom of 3 kids. I put God first and everything else falls into place. He is my rock! I love photography, singing/songwriting, and writing all together, which is why I'm doing this blog thing, here goes... View all posts by Cheryl

10 responses to “A New Law…Sort of (Part 2)

  • Mom

    I have many thoughts about this. One is when Jesus (Yeshua) said: If you love me, keep my commandments – which ones was He talking about? The ones He gave to His people Israel. As a Gentile believer, (possibly Jewish) -I have been graphed into the vine. I know that as I have come to want to obey the Torah (old testament) there is more peace is my heart; and I am seeing that it is not burdensome to try to do so. I know the Word – if you break one you are guilty of breaking them all………except that Jesus Himself came to die to wipe that guilt off of us. You mentioned the verse about being more righteous than the Pharisees – well when we accept Jesus (Yeshua) as our own Savior and make Him Lord of our life; He puts HIS righteousness on us. That is the only way to be more righteous than the Pharisees. So does that mean I don’t have to obey His commands? What about the verse that talks about grace abounding more because of sin, but it is NOT a license to just sin (break the laws) and try to hide under grace. Yes I am free in Messiah (Christ) – free to live for Him – free to lay my life down as a living sacrifice to Him – free to try to live according to His Word – the WHOLE WORD. Free to worship Him and praise Him because of what He has done for me. Free to obey His Torah! And that verse in Colossians that I keep getting tossed at me – look again. Don’t judge me because I do celebrate His Holy Days and New Moons…..He commanded us to do so.
    Baruch atah Adonai! (Bless are You Lord)

    • Cher

      There’s a lot in this reply, hehe! I’m not sure where to go about it. But you should check out the conversation between Tony and I below. It gives a new perspective.

  • Watson

    I’ll be waiting for your research and God’s answer to you on the tatoo thing. Nathan & I have often thought of getting ones, and we have even come up with some elaborate designs, but at the end of the day, neither of us can justify the money. It seems like a big waste of money. Even if your doing it to witness, then it has to be in a place where people can see it easily all the time. Nathan talked about doing them on his arms, but a t-shirt would hide it, and he never goes with out a shirt! Now we just joke about getting our wedding bands tatoo’d on cause Nathan gets callus’s on his finger if he wears his ring all day! ha!
    But again, I can’t see spending hundreds of dollars on something like that. I’ll just use my voice and my actions when ever I can!

    • Cher

      Well, since tattoo’s are a part of the law, then I’m still figuring it out. But Tony has given me MUCH to think about! And I’ve started researching myself, including reading the links he posted on his last reply. You should check them out too. We should do a study group on this! One thing I keep thinking of is, I know some Christians who think it’s sin to get a tattoo, but I know for a fact that they don’t follow every single law in the OT/Torah, if you will, and therefore, what the heck?? I really want to talk about this stuff with you in person, as I have been researching on my own.

  • Tony Isaac

    What you have written is quite thought provoking but here’s what I think.

    Jesus fulfilled the law because the every aspect of the law pointed towards Him. He was the Passover lamb, the firstfruit offered unto God, the sin offering, guilt offering etc. He is our circumcision and in Him we find our Sabbath. Since He had fulfilled all the requirements of the law on our behalf there is no need for us to keep observing any of them.

    But the reason the law was introduced in the first place was to make the people live right but instead it condemned them and was a constant reminder of their sins. However in Christ Jesus, we’ve been freed from the law and the Holy Spirit which is the gift of the Father has been given to us as a guide instead. The makes it totally unnecessary to try and observe the Ten Commandments as the Holy Spirit helps us live right. Hence scripture tells us that those that are led by the Spirit are children of God.

    I hope this helps.

    God bless.

    • Cher

      I think you make great points and give me more to think about, thank you! But what about the verses I quoted in matthew where it says, “Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven.” How does this apply, because it looks pretty clear cut to me, ya know?

  • Tony Isaac

    When Jesus made this statement, the Old Testament was still in full effect. It was still same ole story of keeping all the requirements of the law and a default on one meant a default on all.

    Now we have the Holy Spirit instead.

    I hope that helps.

    Thanks

  • Watson

    WOW, And I mean WOW to what Tony said. Never thought of it like that. hm. :o)

Leave a Reply

