A New Law…sort of (Part 1)

I was reading Ephesians chapter 2 last night, as part of my “Bible in a year” reading, and I had a little revelation at verse 15. But just for context I’ll type out verse 14 -16 from the New Living Translation.
14 For Christ himself has brought peace to us. He united Jews and Gentiles into one people when, in his own body on the cross, he broke down the wall of hostility that separated us. 15 He did this by ending the system of law with its commandments and regulations. He made peace between Jews and Gentiles by creating in himself one new people from the two groups. 16 Together as one body, Christ reconciled both groups to God by means of his death on the cross, and our hostility toward each other was put to death.
Earlier in the evening, before reading this passage, my friends and I were talking about the Bible and my one friend mentioned how Christ came to fulfill the law. I’ve always heard people say that, but I never really thought about what it meant. When I read verse 15, I remembered hearing what my friend said and it finally made sense. Christ ended the system of law with its commandments (all the law that was written before He came) through all His teachings and then by dying and rising from the dead. Simply put, He fulfilled the law.
Since Christ fulfilled the law, we no longer have to try to fulfill the law ourselves. Meaning, we no longer have to sacrifice a clean animal unto the Lord for the forgiveness of our sins. Jesus was symbolically the lamb that was slain for all our sins eternally. We simply have to ask for forgiveness and it will be given to us.
Secondly, because Jesus fulfilled the law, he created new (sort of) commands through all His teachings here on earth (which is what verse 15 is saying). Therefore I truly don’t believe we are bound to the old laws, specifically, to the Ten Commandments anymore….if we do everything Christ asked us to do, and live by Him, we will indeed follow all the Ten Commandments and many of the other Old Testament (OT) laws without being religious about it. The people of the OT followed the laws because they had to and sacrificing an animal was a ritual for them. I believe Christ came to change that. Jesus pursues every single one of us and desires a relationship with us, not a ritualized relationship, how awesome is that?
I feel similar with tithing (and any other specific law in the OT). Jesus doesn’t speak about tithing, rather he asks us to give to those in need, and to bless even our enemies…I think this far exceeds the giving of 10% to the storehouse and is less religious. When we tithe, many of us are guilty of tithing for the wrong reasons…”the Bible tells me to so I will, even though I want to keep it”….or, “God will honor my giving to the church, I’m giving to get blessed in return”. Giving is only meant to be done with no expectations of a return, it’s simply because of the joy of blessing someone else. And when Jesus asks us to give to those who need, it is easier to do so “unreligiously”, if you will. Although unreservedly, not so much; and I know this too. I know that either way can be done with corrupt motivations, but I personally would like to see a need and give to it (knowing it could lead to salvation for someone) then give to the same cause my whole life.
Ok, so I wrote this blog about a month ago because I wanted to do more research. So if you disagree with it, read Part 2. I did more research and changed my view.

About Cheryl

I am a 31 year old wife of 10 years and mom of 3 kids. I put God first and everything else falls into place. He is my rock! I love photography, singing/songwriting, and writing all together, which is why I'm doing this blog thing, here goes... View all posts by Cheryl

Leave a Reply

