Faith, or just hope?

Hebrews 11:1 says “Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see” (NLT). Many of us know this verse very well and, in fact, live by this verse… Well, at least we think we do. A couple of years ago I finally realized what this verse really means. Like, I had an “Aha! That’s it!” moment, and God completely opened my eyes. A revelation from God that has since changed my life and my thought process on faith.
This past Sunday, Dave and I visited our last church and Pastor Matthew said something that described exactly how I feel about faith, but I could never seem to put it into words. He said that we have many times called hope, faith. That faith is actually when you KNOW it (whatever you’re believing for) will happen, that “you’d be willing to bet the farm on it”. Hope on the other hand, is an expectancy on God, believing it can happen, but not KNOWING it will. We have many times, if not all the time, called this faith. I really believe that we, (as Christian American’s) have become a people of very little faith. Instead we are a people of hope. Basically, instead of praying, “Lord, please heal her”, we should be praying, “You are healed in Jesus’ name!” It has to be decided in our heart before we even start praying, that it IS going to happen! Hebrews 11:3 says “By faith we understand that the entire universe was formed at God’s command, that what we now see did not come from anything that can be seen”, we KNOW He formed it, not we hope He did. Which is the exact faith we should have in our prayer’s.
Romans 10:17 says, “So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.” We have to always stay put in the Bible and see things through God’s eyes, which comes from reading His word. If we’re not reading it how can we back up our prayers with it. Because “by His stripes we ARE healed” is what His word tells us and is what we should claim. And if you’ve read the Gospels, you would see that when Jesus healed someone He always said, because of you’re faith you have been healed! The followers of Jesus KNEW Jesus could heal them and that he would. The word of God does not change, therefore if it was by faith they were healed, then by TRUE faith, we are healed too!
If there is something miraculous you are praying for right now, I would challenge you to put your new faith up for the challenge. Remember, nothing is too big for God, it just always seems gigantic to us.

About Cheryl

I am a 31 year old wife of 10 years and mom of 3 kids. I put God first and everything else falls into place. He is my rock! I love photography, singing/songwriting, and writing all together, which is why I'm doing this blog thing, here goes... View all posts by Cheryl

3 responses to “Faith, or just hope?

  • Watson

    Good stuff! Good visit I guess!

  • Dave

    Thanks for your post…very encouraging and challenging. I guess that I have gotten the two confused for a while now. Faith sounds so much harder, but I want to have more Faith! I know that you are my wife so I am a little biased, but I honestly think that your posts are fantastic! I’m so proud of the woman of God you are, I see it in your daily life how God is shaping you and molding you…it’s Awesome! Continue the good fight of Faith and drawing closer to him! You might not see the results of your effort now, but you will one day. I know that your posts have honestly touched my life and challenged me! You are truly a virtuous woman!

Leave a Reply

