Can you hear it?

“Well it’s about time!” is all I can think as I start typing. At the age of 14 I decided to start going at it with pen and paper and ever since I have realized that I LOVE to write. Whether it be poem, essay, story, or song, it seems to be a part of my core being. On the talented end of the stick, not so sure I’m as great as I think I am, because we all probably think of our work (in what it is we love to do) as great, but I’m hoping at least one person can get something from the blogs I write. And hopefully I can get something back from them.

As for the point of all this? Well, I’ve finally realized that I’ve seemed to learn a lot in these 5 years of marriage. I am young and have much to learn, but with what I know and what I am learning there’s an endless possibilities list to choose from in writing these blogs. My main focus? God. From there I can pretty much discuss anything and it should get interesting.

Lately my life has been all about hearing God’s voice. I mean, I’m no professional at it, but have any of us really acquired the perfect skill in doing this very thing? I’m thinking that we all hear Him wrong at somepoint, or we at least choose to do the wrong thing. Either way, none of us have “arrived”. Quite the encouraging statement there, for me. But through selling our home, moving to an aparment, then a home, through trial after trial in trying to raise 2 little ones, through trying start a computer business out of our home, through helping a new church plant get started, through going to school part time, and through just being a woman, I’d say I have really come far. My husband, Dave, and I have always tried to wait for God to speak to us in all these areas and do what it is the Lord wants us to do. “What is your will, Lord?”, or “Please guide us on this new journey, Lord”, or “We just don’t know what to do anymore, Lord, we need your help!” are all things we’ve prayed many times! We’ve often times tried to make it through something on our own, and then finally when things are going wrong and we just can’t take it anymore, we call on God for help. The sad truth for all of us, but God is so good! He shows us His love as a father when at that moment changes our perspective on the situation and gives us peace. I never feel though that He is angry with me for not calling on Him in the first place. I always feel his grace and the lifting of my burden.

One important thing I’ve realized, is if we’re going to hear God’s voice, we need to close our lips and listen. I like to talk, so this tends to be a hard one for me, but when I really focus and seek the Lord in my prayer time, He shows me how to listen and tells me when to be silent. The more I do it, the easier it seems to get.

Lately the struggle for my family is with our finances, a common struggle with many of us I’m sure. We’re in our new home just under a year now and it sure is a rough one because with a new home also comes a new mortgage. In these winter months it sure is enough to settle in some depression, which leads to a mommy and wife who tends to be quite a bit more frustrated. After a couple of weeks, I finally realized about two weeks ago that I need to lift this burden up to the Lord and listen to what He wants to tell me about it. I really needed His peace. So I was sitting in church during a time of prayer, worship, and listening….and I just felt in my spirit that all the Lord wants from me is my devotion to Him everyday. Just setting aside some time for him everyday, which I had been struggling with doing in the past. If I do this, He will take care of our financial burdens and everythign else that is weighing on this family. What a weight lifted off my shoulders! It’s two weeks later and I am still free of any depression and overall frustration!

It’s so neat how sometimes we need to hear God’s voice in a situation where we need to make a decision, and sometimes we need to hear God’s voice tell us we’re going the wrong way, and then sometimes we just need to hear his voice say “I love you and I’m holding you in the palm of my hand”. His voice is always there, all we have to do is wait and listen. At the right time, He will speak to us. I have learned this through the past 5 years of my life, and am finally catching on…and oh how I am excited to hear more and more of the voice of my father.

May we hold fast to this promise…
Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

About Cheryl

I am a 31 year old wife of 10 years and mom of 3 kids. I put God first and everything else falls into place. He is my rock! I love photography, singing/songwriting, and writing all together, which is why I'm doing this blog thing, here goes... View all posts by Cheryl

7 responses to “Can you hear it?

Leave a Reply

